Arts Council of Northern Ireland

The Funding and Development Agency
for The Arts in Northern Ireland

028 9262 3555

Latest News
Browse Archive

Sinéad Morrissey shortlisted for prestigious Forward poetry prize

Monday 8th July 2013 at 12pm 0 Comments Literature


Sinéad nominated for her new book Parallax (Carcanet), written last year while she was an Arts Council of Northern Ireland Major Individual Award recipient. 

The Forward Prize for Poetry is one of the UK’s top annual Poetry awards, worth £10,000 to the winner.

Welcoming the shortlisting, the Arts Council's Head of Literature & Drama Damian Smyth said:

'Sinéad's has been for 15 years an outstanding voice in contemporary poetry in English and we are delighted that, once again, her work is being recognised at the highest levels and for a collection which shows a poet reaching the crest of her powers in both private and very public poems. The Forward Prize was won by Seamus Heaney in 2010 and Sinéad is keeping good company in this category of Best Collection.’

Jeanette Winterson, who chairs a judging panel consisting of the actor/director Samuel West, the journalist David Mills and the poets Paul Farley and Sheenagh Pugh, said:
“This is a powerful year for poetry. We made our choices looking for poems that used a lit-up living language and had a sense of purpose.”

The three prizes are unique in honouring both the work of established poets (Best Collection £10,000) and the debuts of brilliant unknowns (Best First Collection £5,000). The Best Single Poem award (£1,000) is a prize for which only award-winning poems and published works not yet collected in book form are eligible.

The prizes will be awarded by Jeanette Winterson on October 1st 2013 at the Southbank Centre. Tickets for the event, at which Samuel West and other celebrated actors will read poetry from the shortlist, are now on sale. The 22nd annual Forward Book of Poetry, containing the judges’ choice of the year’s best poems will be launched on the same day.

Sinéad’s fellow contenders for the £10,000 Forward Prize for Best Collection are Rebecca Goss, Glyn Maxwell, Jacob Polley and Michael Symmons Roberts.

Established to bring greater attention to contemporary poetry, previous winners of the Forward Prize for Poetry  include Don Paterson, Carol Ann Duffy,Ted Hughes and Seamus Heaney who won in 2010 for his collection entitled Human Chain, inspired by the poet's experiences after a stroke.



Comments (0)

Add Your Comment
Commenting is not available in this channel entry.